On the Big Screen: X-Men: First Class

I will admit to being a bit…apprehensive of the idea of X-Men First Class, especially as things were told about it across the internet.  Somethings like Havoc versus Cyclops.  Mystique being so young. All of these, had me raising my eyebrow and I’ve never read the original X-Men comics. I’ve seen X1 and X2, and the Wolverine series but I’ve never read them until recently, and even then, I’ve been in to X-treme X-Men and most recently Uncanny X-Force.  So I’m not the most knowledgeable about the X-Men/Marvel universe.

However, despite my misgivings, seeing it in the theatres…I enjoyed it. I was pleasantly surprised by the movie. The story line, which while it contridicted information from the first trilogy (the comics do this all the time…should a movie shock us for following suit?) , was solid.  Given that Bryan Singer, the director of the original two, was involved, that should come as now shock.

The casting was well done. While it was odd to have anyone other than Sirs Ian McKellan and Patrick Stewart playing Magneto and Professor X, respectfully, I feel that Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy did a wonderful job making these roles their own. Jennifer Lawerence was marvelous as Raven/Mystique, which is good because I loved her when played by Rebecca Romjin. Kevin Bacon played a wonderful villian as Sebastian Shaw and January Jones was very and I mean, very yummy as Emma Frost, one of my favorite female comic book characters.

Of course there are continuity issues, as with any series but I don’t fel that those take away from the movie. As with any X-Men title, there are a million and one realities and this is just another one. I think that it’ll be a good series if they keep it going.

Tyger

Leave a Reply

