On The Big Screen: The Woman In Black

The Woman in Black Movie Poster

What did they see?

Another movie seen and this time it was a slightly different one for me to post here. The others have all been action films and this one was definitely not. I’m talking about “The Woman in Black” with actor Daniel Radcliffe.

Now, I’m not a big horror movie fan. I’ve never been big on being scared. Hell, in Independence Day, when the alien throws Brent Spiner against the glass, I jumped (Okay, my dad chose that  moment to slap his hands on my shoulders but still…). But this had sounded interesting and my roommate had also wanted to see it. So off we went on Monday to see it.

It’s good. It’s very good.

It started out as a novel of the same name, published in 1983 by Susan Hill. It’s been adapted into a play, another movie and some radio series, none of which seem to follow the book exactly, and neither does this one. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Woman_in_Black ).

The basic synopsis is that Daniel Radcliffe plays Arthur Kipps, a young lawyer widower with a son who is sent by his law firm to this small, remote town on the English coast where he’s to put into order a recently deceased woman’s affairs. He finds that the town folk are not willing to discuss the old manor and tell him to leave it be. Yet he, of course, persists and finds himself the center of some very strange happenings while revealing the story of the woman in black.

It was well done and a very good first feature film for Daniel to choose to break away from the Harry Potter role. I loved him as Harry but I think that this shows he has a lot of staying power as an actor and will be remembered for far more than that one role. I hope his other castmembers can find the same success.

As I said, my roommate who grew up on horror films and loves them, was with me. She doesn’t scare easy, if at all. Yet this one had her hunched in her seat as well, fists in front of her mouth, watching avidly.

Another interesting tidbit for folks, this is a Hammer film. That’s right, the same folks who brought you Dracula, Frankenstein, and other black and white horror films with film legends Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing bring you this great thiller.

Tyger

One thought on “On The Big Screen: The Woman In Black

  1. I REALLY want to go see this one. It’s been a while since I’ve seen a good horror movie. I love horror, and I watch a lot of it, but I find very little of it to actually be scary. So all I’ve heard about this one makes me really want to see it!

Leave a Reply

