Video Game #3: Dishonored

Dishonored, by Bethsheda, box art

Dishonored Boxart, courtesy of http://dishonored.wikia.com

A long time, and no posts. For that I apologize. I’ve got a bad habit of playing games and not finishing them straight through, often playing many games before finally beating one. The current review is one that I picked up on a Black Friday Sale in Nov. 2012 and finally beat right before the end of the year. Of course, there were about two weeks where I didn’t play it, or many games, at all.

Dishonored is a game that I wanted to play the moment I saw the first trailer. It was intriguing to me. A steampunk fantasy game was an interesting concept. Yet, I wasn’t willing to pay full price for it. I never am. So I waited and snagged this gem up off of a sale. And let me say, it was worth every penny paid! Of course, I think, in retrospect, it would have been worth even the full price of admission.

You play Lord Protector Corvo Attano, the bodyguard for the Empress. The game starts with you returning from seeking aid from the Rat Plague [think Bubonic Plague.]. After her assassination, that’s when the real story begins. You’re ‘rescued’ from a death sentence and given the ability to seek revenge on the traitors. Though this you’re given supernatural powers by one known as The Outsider, a trickster figure. It’s up to you how you do all this. Do you let all hell reign supreme and go in all guns blazing or are you discreet and find other means of taking down your enemies?

That’s the beauty of this game. You can choose how to tackle a problem, how to approach an issue. Sometimes you’ll take one way, only to realize later there was an easier way to do it. The world is expansive and the lore impressive. It’s dark and gritty.

The graphics are, to me, a bit unusual. Maybe even a bit dated. Yet, it’s not distracting and doesn’t detract from the game at all.

  • Story – 8
  • Playability – 9
  • Visual Appeal – 7
  • Overall – 8

Tyger

3 thoughts on “Video Game #3: Dishonored

  1. I bought Dishonored when it came out and played it a bit but haven’t been back to it lately. I probably got about 3 hours in and it was an enjoyable three hours. I just got distracted by Halo and Black Ops and now the Steam sale…. I’ll get back to Dishonored eventually I’m sure, it is indeed a great game.

    -avideogamelife.com

Leave a Reply

